Forum How do I...?

New Installation, Fontconfig warnings/errors, PDF works

silverRocket
Hi there

I'm moving to a new server, from RedHatES3 to RedHatES5 and I've re-installed Prince as well as a custom "fonts.css" file to point Prince to the real location of some fonts.

When I try to run a test conversion at the command line, a PDF is produced, but the command line always reports:

Fontconfig warning: line 32: unknown element "cachedir"
Fontconfig warning: line 33: unknown element "cachedir"
Fontconfig error: "conf.d", line 1: no element found

I use Prince with PHP, but I do have my conversion scripts check for any warnings generated and my 'workflow' is stopped if any warnings exist... so I'd like to eliminate this.

I'm relatively new to linux, but surviving. Fontconfig is installed and I think the cache is built, as I ran "fc-cache" but still have this error.

Tips appreciated!
mikeday
This error is caused by some changes in the Fontconfig configuration file format that the library used by Prince doesn't understand. It does not affect the operation of Prince, but the constant warning messages are a bit annoying.

Are you running the ES3 or ES4 RPM? If the Fontconfig version has changed between ES4 and ES5, then it might be easiest if we build a new Prince RPM for ES5.
silverRocket
We're running the ES4 RPM. I was actually wondering if that was the deal. Would I have any more luck with the generic linux build? Or asked another way, when do you think you could have an ES5 package? :) Thanks!
mikeday
It might be worth trying the generic Linux build, as it is probably using a more up to date version of the Fontconfig library. We will build a new RPM package for ES5 once we have a server environment setup with vmware, perhaps after the next maintenance release.
silverRocket
I tried the generic Linux build, but still have a fontconfig issue (a little different):

Fontconfig warning: line 30: unknown element "cachedir"