Forum How do I...?

getting prince to work in PHP

samWhisker
Hi Guys

First i want to apologize cos i am a complete newby to this, i suspect i am not alone so i would love an answer to my very simple question that will hopefully get more people up and running with this software. i assume its a pretty simple process but i am stumped!

so in its simplest form i have this

<?php

require_once $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] . '/Projects/XpressBook/assets/savepdf/prince.php';

$xmlString = 'hello world';
$path = $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] . '/Projects/XpressBook/assets/savepdf/lib/prince/bin/prince';

$prince = new Prince($path);
$prince->convert_string_to_passthru($xmlString)

?>

So my question is, assuming its not a server issue or an install of the library issue, is this enough for it to create a simple pdf file? or am i missing something? if i am waaaaaaaaaay of the mark any suggestions would be great, i dont mind doing a bit of googling to find my answer!

Thanks to anyone that can give me any advice at all

Cheers Guys :D
mikeday
Set the $xmlstring to some XML, with a root element, like "<html><body>Hello, world!</body></html>". If the input won't be well-formed XML, call setHTML(1); You may also wish to call setLog before convert, specifying a writable log file that Prince can save any error or warning messages to.
samWhisker
Hi Mike

Thanks for the response, and i appologise for not responding sooner, i have been focusing on other areas of the project

so it looks like my PHP is ok but i cant even write to an error log, i am wondering (and i appologise if i sound stupid here) do you have to install the program on the server or is it a matter of uploading it and just referencing it?

i have uploaded it to the required location to test, i copied a systemCall.php file from another user

<?php
function my_exec($cmd, $input='') {
    $proc=proc_open($cmd, array(0=>array('pipe', 'r'), 1=>array('pipe', 'w'), 2=>array('pipe', 'w')), $pipes);