Forum How do I...?

Headers and Footers that span the page width

pkj
Hi,

I'm new to CSS3 so please forgive a potentially daft question.

Is there any way to set headers / footers in coloured bands such as this pdf.

I know I can get to the edge of the page by setting margin and padding to 0, but as far as I understand, that will eat up the space that is normally reserved for the headers / footers.

Thanks in advance.

Peter Jackson
mikeday
To create a solid band of color in the page header try adding this to your style sheet:
@page {
    @top-left-corner {
        content: "this is the top left";
        background: green;
    }
    @top-center {
        content: "this is the top center";
    }
    @top-right-corner {
        content: "this is the top right";
    }
}

To do this for the page footer, just replace "top" with "bottom". If you don't want any text in the corners, set the content to the empty string "".
pkj
Thanks, that works a treat when I add @top-left, @top-right and play about with padding and margins.

What if I want to do something like the full-width box (that starts "If you want to know more,...") on page 2 of that PDF?

I can get a full width box using something like this:

<div style="width:170mm; background-color:#c3e1ee; margin: 0mm 0mm 0mm -20mm; padding:0 20mm 0 20mm;">

but this seems nasty as it requires me to know the paper size, and details of the margins and paddings to get right. Is there a better way?

Also, if I add a float:bottom to bring the div down to the bottom of the page, there is still the page margin which leaves a white strip across the page. Is there a way to remove that without setting a page specific footer?

Lastly, is there a way to give a background colour to the left half of the page, like on pages 6, 10 and 12 of the PDF? I know that CSS3 does not allow you to address individual columns yet, but is that something you have thought about for Prince.