Forum How do I...?

Generated content and source ordering

whittaker007
Hi,

I'm just getting started with Prince and paged media CSS. My interest is to author content with reasonably complex layout that can be reformatted with media specific stylesheets.

Generating headers and footers only with content style attributes allows plain text to be inserted, but without the ability to insert rich XML content, the headers and footers can ony be simply styled. Using flow to divert content from the page body to the header and footer area is an ingenious solution and combining these two techniques offers some interesting possibilities.

My test page has a fairly standard web divisions of Header, Content and Footer. The content has been broken into Sections, Subsections and paragraphs. With the print stylesheet I have associated Sections with a page type of Chapter, set page breaks after each, and diverted the contents of the Header and Footer divs into the header and footer margin area to appear on every page. The structure is something like this:

<header>

<content>
   <section>
      <subsection>
   </section>
   <section>
      <subsection>
   </section>
</content>

<footer>

So here's the first problem: the Footer only appears on the last page. I presume that Prince lays out pages as the DOM is parsed, so the footer content is not available until the last page (since it is the last div in the source). Moving the footer from the bottom of the page source to in front of the content results in the footer appearing on every page as desired. Of course having the footer appear before the content is not just a presentational issue (I can use CSS to position the footer back at the bottom of the page), it is also semantically flawed.