Forum How do I...?

Installing License, Installing Fonts

silverRocket
Hi there

I can't wait to start trying Prince. We're running it on Red Hat ES 3 on our real server, and White Box Enterprise Linux on our test server.

I'm a pro PHP programmer who has survived in the guts/code of Linux where necessary, but after installing Prince easily (via: "rpm -ivh prince-6.0r2-1.rhel3.i386.rpm") I'm at a total loss for the next steps.

Firstly, obviously the first thing I wanted to do was make a test pdf. But I quickly encountered the fonts issue... and I'm stuck on it. I've downloaded msttcorefonts-2.0-1.spec and tried to build it ("rpmbuild -bb msttcorefonts-2.0-1.spec") however it fails; I get a "RPM Build Errors: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.32349 (%prep)"

So... I figured I'd leave that for a moment and just install the license file ("license.dat"). However, I have no idea where Prince was installed!!! My email says to place it in "lib/prince/license", but I don't have a "lib/prince" directory. How do I know where Prince was installed to?

So, I'm flummoxed on two points. I've even successfully installed the Liberation fonts (mentioned in another post: it appears i cannot add a URL to my first forum pierce) which i thought would solve my fonts problem. They seem like they're installed, but I still get a "prince: internal error: no available fonts" when trying to make a (first) PDF.

Any help appreciated!!!
silverRocket
It seems Prince installed to "/usr/lib/prince" and not "/lib/prince"... Not a problem (I presume)...

Still desperately trying to get the fonts installed properly.....
kmmv
Do you have fontconfig or any other font-management tools installed? There isn't a magic fonts path on Linux like there is Windows. Unless you have X or other font-using programs, none of the font tools are even installed.

Alternatively, you can reference the full paths in your CSS to the .ttf files.

@font-face {
    font-family: sans-serif;
    font-style: normal;