Forum How do I...?

Faster style iteration?

schneems
Hello,

I'm new to the prince ecosystem. I was previously using pandoc to build PDFs and I was able to use the HTML output of pandoc to approximate styling for the PDF so that I could use normal browser inspection and manipulation tools. I'm wanting a similar flow (or maybe suggestions on alternatives) with prince.

With Prince when I've got my styles and I've got my HTML, but viewing it in the browser looks wildly different than the PDF (See attached comparison). The only way I've found to reliably edit styles is to re-generate the whole PDF, scroll to the page I wanted to style, see that it's not what I wanted and go again. With pandoc it was instant feedback and a very familiar CSS toolchain.

Is there a way to better approximate prince output when viewing my document in the browser? It doesn't need to be perfect, but for now it's not even close. Maybe there are some default values for max-width etc. that someone has found that bring it closer? Any tips are appreciated.
  1. Screen Shot 2021-10-16 at 8.12.23 PM.png328.1 kB
    prince doc with styles in my browser
  2. Screen Shot 2021-10-16 at 8.12.48 PM.png1.7 MB
    Same doc in PDF
jpavel
I've found that browsers and Prince have significantly different default values for their User Agent stylesheet, the biggest of which applies to lists. You can use a thorough CSS normalizer, or at least the minimum of

ul, ol {
  padding-left: 0;
  margin-left: 40px;
}

To keep lists consistent.

One thing you can do to avoid trial and error is to open your HTML page in Chrome devtools and just copy everything in an element's User Agent Stylesheet section into your CSS file, to ensure Prince is using the same values.

Edited by jpavel

schneems
> copy everything in an element's User Agent Stylesheet section into your CSS file