Forum How do I...?

Running from server

iancevans
I have been using Prince for about 6 months for generating PDFs of my academic papers. I have it installed on my hard drive, but keep the XHTML versions of my papers on my website for viewing. I manually generate the PDFs and then upload them to my server with a link should anyone viewing my papers want to print them.

It occurred to me that it would be much more convenient if I could just install Prince on my server and dynamically generate a PDF whenever someone wanted to print.

So I installed the latest version of Prince on my server. When I attempt to call it from the command line on a document, I get the following errors:

prince: InfiniteProgress2.html:257: error: htmlParseEntityRef: no name prince: InfiniteProgress2.html:258: error: htmlParseEntityRef: no name prince: internal error: no available fonts

I know this isn't enough information for troubleshooting, but I'm not sure what you need to know, so just ask and I'll provide!

Thanks for any help you can offer!

ian
mikeday
This is almost certainly caused by an unescaped ampersand (&) in an attribute value, which needs to be escaped as &
iancevans
Thanks for the quick response. I fixed the unescaped ampersands, but I'm still getting the following error:

prince: internal error: no available fonts

I've gotten this error on the Prince test documents as well. Any thoughts?

ian
mikeday
It means there are no available fonts. :)

You can install the msttcorefonts, or use other fonts, as described here.
iancevans
javascript:emoticon(':oops:')

I dropped a copy of Georgia on the server and added the following to the fonts.css file in the prince directory:

/*Georgia */

@font-face {
    font-family: Georgia;
    font-weight: normal;
    font-style: normal;
    src: url("/home/iancevans/iancevans.com/fonts/Georgia.ttf");
}

@font-face {
    font-style: italic;
    src: url("/home/iancevans/iancevans.com/fonts/GeorgiaItalic.ttf");
}

@font-face {